Sunday, February 12, 2012

Soundarya Lahari - Part 13


There are three superlative hymns of praise on Mother Goddess in the form of Lalita.

Chronologically they are:

AryA-dvishati’ (also called ‘lalitA-stava-ratnam’) a 200-shloka piece by Sage Durvasa;

Soundaryalahari which is actually made up of two parts – ‘Ananda-lahari’ , a 41- shloka piece brought from Kailas by Adi Shankara and ‘Soundarya-lahari’ the 59-shloka piece composed by Adi Shankara himself, the two pieces together going by the popular name of Soundaryalahari by Adi Shankara; and

Panca-shati’ (a 500-shloka piece) by the poet Muka.

Durvasa's AryA-dvishati gives us a spiritual experience of the presence of the Almighty-Goddess in the very words of AryA-dvishati. In this he describes the complicated structure of the ShrI-chakra.

The Goddess's Grace descends on those who read and recite such hymns of praise composed by great devotees who have already merited the descent of Her Grace on them.


No comments:

Post a Comment